Wargame Review: Axis and Allies vs Memoir 44


Axis & Allies vs. Memoir 44: How do they stack up?


Wargame Review:  Original box of the original MB Axis and Allies.
Of course they have come out with many versions of this great game since then.

by Mike Montesa

Well, in terms of scale, the vanilla A&A game is a strategic game, the
theater focused A&A games are operational, and M44 is tactical (all in
a “kinda-sorta” way) So it really depends on what you want. If you
always wanted to play out the assault on Pegasus Bridge on D-Day at
the platoon/squad level but didn’t want to play Advanced Squad Leader,
M44 is your game. if you’ve always wanted to game the Battle for
Guadalcanal in its entirety, but didn’t want to play SPI’s old Pacific
War, A&A:Guadalcanal is your game. If you’ve always wanted to play out
the whole war, but couldn’t get in to Third Reich, A&A is your game.

Wargame Simplicity
Personally, I enjoy them all but I really like the simplicity and
modularity of M44. With the terrain and expansion sets, you can make
scenarios for any theater (and there are many. many fan-made scenarios
online). I don’t have the aircraft expansion yet but it looks really
cool. And the ability to put the boards together and play a super
large battle with multiple players is really fun! I played a big
3-board D-Day game at Gen Con SoCal a couple years back and had a
blast!

M44 plays fast too, and you can finish even big scenarios in an hour
or less. Some people despise the random aspect of the card but I like
it. I wouldn’t call it the most accurate depiction of WW2 combat (it
necessarily abstracts a lot of things, but that’s all right) but it
sure is fun, and has plenty of color.

7 thoughts on “Wargame Review: Axis and Allies vs Memoir 44

  1. Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it is really informative.

    I am going to watch out for brussels. I will be grateful if you continue this in future.
    Lots of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  2. Thanks for any other informative website. The place else may just I get that type of information written in such a perfect means?
    I’ve a mission that I am just now running on, and I have been on the look out for such
    info.

  3. Hey there! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I really enjoy reading your blog posts.
    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that deal
    with the same topics? Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

