We all buy at the Yellow Submarine


Quotes from Boardgamegeek.com

I like Yellow Submarine and enjoy browsing at the store in South Shinjuku. I will say one thing though,
at the store in Akihabara I had a store clerk basicly follow me around the store like he thought I was going to steal something.
I felt he was racist. Maybe they have some non-Japanese shop lift at times, but Japanese must do so too. Does he
stay close to all the Japanese customers too? I doubt it. So the last time I was at the store in Akihabara that sells a lot
of games and has the game tables (for playing games) in the back, it wasn`t the nicest shopping experience.

It`s too bad they do that sometimes. I have had similar experiences at Toys r` Us in Hadano and another shop in Odawara.

It certainly highlights what it feels like to be a visible minority at times and makes me sympathize more with non-caucasian people
in Canada and how they are treated at times.


Where to buy & Play Games in Tokyo?

If you have spare time in Wednesday, there is a weekly boardgame meeting in Yellow Submarine in Akihabara between 1:00PM to 8:30PM. This is not English meeting but no charge. Free. You can join if you are interested in Japanese gamers. Some of guys can speak English and I think I can help you if I were there (usually 6:00PM to 8:30PM). If you want to make sure if I was there, just mail me. We played with some western guys before and there are only few problems to play games even if you can’t understand Japanese. Gaming itself is a language. I hope you will have great time in my country.
Joe

What`s the difference between the different
Yellow Sub Stores?

What’s the difference (aside from location, of course) between these two branches of yellow submarine?
http://www.yellowsubmarine.co.jp/shop/shop-017.htm
http://www.yellowsubmarine.co.jp/shop/shop-029.htm
Both sell boardgames and other types of games. Which of the two would be the best place to look for Japanese wargames and other non-Euro and non-TCG/CCG stuff?

Or would Shosen be a better place for that?
http://www.shosen.co.jp/hp/mart/index_mart.html

Joe Yamasaki

Lajos, I asked a couple of guys about the topic. People said there is not big difference between two yellow submarine stores. Sounds like about same. And if you are interested in Japanese wargames, yellow submarine has better lineup than Shosen. On the other hand, if you are looking for US games, Shosen might be better choice. I recommend yellow submarine Akihabara. Even you can’t find good game at the store, Shosen is near. You also can try Yodobashi Camera Akihabara for monopoly, life game, go, shogi and other non-gamers games for better price.
Joe

Gideon Marcus

Lajos wrote:
What’s the difference (aside from location, of course) between these two branches of yellow submarine?

http://www.yellowsubmarine.co.jp/shop/shop-017.htm
http://www.yellowsubmarine.co.jp/shop/shop-029.htm
Both sell boardgames and other types of games.

Which of the two would be the best place to look for Japanese wargames and other non-Euro and non-TCG/CCG stuff?
Or would Shosen be a better place for that?

http://www.shosen.co.jp/hp/mart/index_mart.html

I haven’t seen the Shinjuku store since 2003. I went to the Akihabara store just four months ago.

The Akihabara store is in a tower and has a decent sized role-playing/tabletop/miniature gaming room with a few tables. The people there have always looked friendly. I know some wargamers go in there too. I chatted with a couple of them.

Drake Coldwinter
(drakecoldwinter)
Canada
Quebec
Quebec

I went to the Shinjuku store last week, the basement is more for cards, there is another yellow submarine in the same building, second floor with plenty of boardgames, nice collection, not as big as the akihabara yellow submarine, but for sure it doesn’t pale away.

Andy Kitkowski
(zigguratbuilder)
United States

Hey all: I’m a huge tabletop RPGer ( http://www.j-rpg.com/talk), and buy all my Japanese RPGs from the Akihabara Yellow Sub. The Shinjuku yellow sub is great if you’re looking for US/International RPGs, but Akihabara has the best local collection of regular and indie J-RPGs.

For boardgames, though, I’ve found it very surprising that the TOKKYU HANDS in Shinjuku (right outside the station, next to Kinokuniya) is a great place to pick up both traditional and modern Japanese board games (the first floor), both in regular and travel sizes. They have all sorts of hanafuda, shogi, go, etc sets next to copies of contemporary Japanese board games. Plus, it’s really easy to spot and make time for, since it’s not too out of the way.

-Andy

I just came back from a visit to (among others) the Shinjuku Yellow Submarine. They have a nice collection of Euro games and some imported wargames as well. All in all a fine shop, but I couldn’t find anything to suit my obscure interests however. Maybe I’ll try Akihabara next week, although that neighborhood gives me a headache just thinking about it…
(I didn’t check out Tokyu Hands, but I’m sure that I will soon since Shinjuku is right on the way between central Tokyo and home.) .

2 thoughts on “We all buy at the Yellow Submarine

  1. Hi!

    I’ve been trying to get a bunch of products from Yellow Submarine, but since I can’t read Japanese or translate their web site effectively, I haven’t had much luck.

    Specifically I’m looking for 1/35th scale SF3D models. I was wondering if you knew how a ‘yank’ would be able to find out if they carry them or if you knew anything about them

    Thanks!

  2. Thank you for the kind words about the site! WordPress looks awesome to start with. You can choose from many styles and many of them are free. I just added a free photo from one of the free photo sites to spruce it up a bit (the medals).

Leave a comment